Sisters of St. Joseph of CarondeletMay 27, 2022

Main News

Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ, Receives AAUW Award

DAVENPORT, Iowa—The Rock Island-Moline American Association of University Women (AAUW) is presenting the “Quad Cities Women of Excellence Award” to Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ, president of St. Ambrose University. Sister Joan will receive the award during a special presentation on Saturday, October 3, at the Butterworth Center in Moline, Illinois. The occasion is part of the AAUW’s 100th anniversary.

“Sister Joan embodies the AAUW mission of advancing equity for women and girls,” says Constance Meyer, former AAUW branch president. “As professor, administrator and now university president, she has broken barriers in higher education.”
The Rock Island-Moline AAUW was formed November 13, 1909, to advance educational, economic, social and political quality for women. Association initiatives include providing grants for post-graduate studies, conducting seminars, engaging in reading and study groups and supporting women who are entering college as non-traditional students.
Sister Joan received a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree, both in English from The College of Saint Rose, Albany, and a doctorate in English from Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island. Among her ministries as a Sister of St. Joseph, Sister Joan has served as professor of English at The College of Saint Rose, Albany, and Avila College, Kansas City; vice president and dean for academic affairs and professor of English at Fontbonne College, St. Louis; president of St. Mary-of-the-Woods College, St. Mary-of-the-Woods, Indiana; and president of St. Ambrose University.

Sister Joan Lescinski, CSJ, (center), President of St. Ambrose University