Sisters of St. Joseph of CarondeletMay 27, 2022

Main News

Sisters and Friends Celebrate the 50th Anniversary of St. Joseph's Provincial House

On Sunday, June 30, 2013, the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, Albany Province, celebrated the 50th anniversary of the dedication of St. Joseph's Provincial House. Sisters, clergy, family, associates, friends, colleagues, former members and partners in ministry, 700 strong, gathered for a Eucharistic Liturgy of Thanksgiving and a reception.

The main celebrant of the Mass was Most Rev. Howard J. Hubbard, bishop of the Albany Diocese. Concelebrants included: Rev. Geoffrey D. Burke, chaplain of the Provincial House; Rev. Paul P. Tartaglia, first chaplain of the Provincial House; Most Rev. Matthew H. Clark, bishop emeritus of Rochester; Most Rev. Thomas J. Costello, bishop emeritus of Syracuse; and Most Rev. Robert J. Cunningham, bishop of Syracuse. Sister Charla Commins of the Province Leadership Team offered reflections during the Liturgy.

The past and present administrators of the Provincial House were acknowledged in a special way in the entrance procession: Sister Marilyn Hayes, Sister Joan Cadden, Sister Yvette Martin, Sister Johanne McCarthy, Sister Sandra Tripp and Mrs. Susan Szczerbacki. Employees and friends participated in honor of all of those who have shared in our mission and ministry at the Provincial House in our past and in our present.

The focus of the wonderful gathering at the Provincial House was not the remembrance of a building but rather a celebration of relationships: of our covenant relationship with God who sustains us with a love beyond our comprehension; of our faithful relationship with one another in community which strengthens us in our love and service of God's people; and of our relationship with all of our friends, family and partners in ministry which keeps us grounded and hopeful! It was a day of overwhelming joy and gratitude!

To view a slide show of the 50th anniversary festivities and to read the "welcome" by Sister Mary Rose Noonan and the reflections by Sister Charla Commins, CSJ, click HERE and scroll to the bottom of the page.

Past and present Provincial House administrators: Sister Sandra Tripp, Sister Joan Cadden, Sister Marilyn Hayes, Sister Yvette Martin, Sister Johanne McCarthy and Mrs. Susan Szczerbacki